Awards/Recognitions by Faculty



S. No	Name of the Awardee	Name of the Awarding Agency	Year of Award	
1.	Prof. R.K. Sinha	Top 2% scientists in world released by:	2020	
	Dr. M. S. Mehata	Stanford University, USA	1123	
	Dr. M. Jayasimhadri			
2.	Prof. A.S. Rao	Top 2% scientists in world	2021, 2022, 2023	
	Prof. R.K. Sinha	released by:		
	Prof. Rishu Chaujar	- Stanford University, USA		
	Dr. M. Jaysimhadri			
3.	[Prof. A. S. Rao, Prof. Rishu Chaujar, Dr. M. S. Mehata, Dr. Jayasimhadri]	Highest no. of Citation Awards in DTU	2023	
4.	Prof. Rishu Chaujar	NASI Fellowship	2024	
5.	Dr. M. S. Mehata	NCTU Visiting Faculty	2019	

Patents Granted



S. No.	Name of Inventor	Title of the Patent	Date of Grant		
1	Dr. Pawan K. Tyagi	201711031608	Growth of diamond film using thermal CVD at atm pressure using sugarcane bagasse as carbon precursor and process	24/01/2023	
2	DR. Mohan Singh Mehata	202011055098	System and method for detecting trivalent metal ions	27/10/2023	
3	DR. Mohan Singh Mehata, Aneesha	202211013803	Probe for the detection of ferric iron in aqueous environments and method	13/12/2023	
4	DR. Mohan Singh Mehata	201911052787	Light emitting metal and dual metal doped zinc selenide quantum dots and method	05/04/2024	
5	DR. Mohan Singh Mehata	202111006180	Apparatus and method for detecting electric field modulated absorptionand photoluminescence of a sample	21/03/2024	

Achievements of the department

- Department of Applied Physics organized "International Conference on Atomic, Molecular, Optical and Nano Physics with Applications (CAMNP-2019)" during December, 18-20, 2019 at DTU.
- Department of Applied Physics in the year 2019 has introduced a new course, Masters of Science (M.Sc. Physics) with an intake strength of 33.
- New Computer Systems were procured in Computational Lab for B.Tech (EP) with latest configurations. Computer-Student ratio in the department is now achieved at 1:1.
- Department of Applied Physics has planned to develop a **Centre of Excellence in the area** of **Space and Atmospheric Sciences.**
- Department has procured two major equipments to develop a **Centre of Excellence in the area of Space and Atmospheric Sciences** and in addition, procurement of three equipments is under process through TEQIP project.
- One Day National Seminar on "Recent Trends in Applied Physics and Engineering (RTAPE-2020)" by Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Awardees was organised by the department on 10th February 2020.
- Department of Applied Physics has signed MoU with CSIO- Chandigarh on 11th February 2020.
- Department has **one published patent (2019) in the name of Dr. M.S. Mehata** on the title "Light emitting metal and dual metal doped zinc selenide quantum dots and method thereof."

Detail of awards for innovation won by department/teachers/research scholars/students during the current year

Title of the innovation	Name of the Awardee	Name of the Awarding Agency with contact details	Year of Award	Category- institution/teacher/researc h scholar/student		
Commendable Research Excellence Award	Dr Rishu Chaujar	DTU	2020	Teacher		
Recognition for Excellence in Teaching Award	Dr Rishu Chaujar	DTU	2020	Teacher		
Research Excellence award	Dr. Jayasimhadri	DTU	2020	Teacher		
Research Excellence award	Prof. S. C. Sharma	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher		
Research Excellence award	Dr. Mohan Singh Mehata	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher		
Research Excellence award	Prof. Rinku Sharma	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher		

Research	Prof. A. S. Rao	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Excellence award				
Research Excellence award	Dr. Ajeet Kumar	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Research Excellence award	Dr. Yogita Kalra	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Research Excellence award	Dr. Nitin K. Puri	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher

Detail of teachers awarded international fellowship for advanced studies/ research

Name of the teacher awarded international fellowship	Name of the award/fellowship	Year of Award	Awarding Agency		
Dr. Mohan Singh Mehata	Visiting Professor	2019	National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan		

Whether department is with UGC-SAP, CAS, DST-FIST, DBT, ICSSR and other similar recognitions by government agency (current year data)

Name of the Department	Name of the Scheme	Name of the funding agency	Year of Award	Funds provided	Duration of award
Applied Physics		TIFAC			

Teachers/staff/students who received awards, recognition, fellowships at State, National, International level from Government, recognised bodies during the current year

Name of full time teachers receiving awards from state level,national level, international level	Year of Award	Designation	Name of the award, fellowship, received from Government or recognised bodies
Dr. Mohan Singh Mehata	2019	Assistant Professor	Visiting Professor of NCTU, Taiwan
Dr. Vinod Singh	2019	Associate Professor	Convener of International Conference CAMNP-2019
Dr. Vinod Singh	2019 2020	Associate Professor	Member, committee for the Project evaluation of AICTE's proposal under TEQIP-III Collaborative Research Scheme
Dr. Vinod Singh	2020	Associate Professor	Reviewer, Journal of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Students' achievements

S. No.	Student Name	Particulars	Date/Month/Year
1.	Mr. Mrityunjay Kumar Singh (Ph.D)	Received Research fellowship of National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan	22nd Sept 2019 to14th Dec 2019
2.	Mr. Mukesh Sahu	Grant received to attend 8 th International workshop on Photoluminescence in Rare Earths: Photonic Materials and Devices (PRE'19)	4 th -6 th September 2019
3.	Ms. Deepali	Grant received to attend National Conference on Luminescence and its Applications (NCLA 2020)	10- 12 th February 2020
4.	Mr. Vikas	Grant received to attend National Conference on Luminescence and its Applications [NCLA- 2020]	10-12 th February 2020

$\begin{tabular}{ll} \textbf{Detail of student progression to higher education (previous graduating batch) (the current year)} \end{tabular}$

Name of students enrolling into higher education	Program graduated from	Department graduated from	Name of institution joined	Name of programme admitted to		
Abhishek Seth	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	QUEEN'S University Belfast	Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering with Professional Internship		
Arjun Monga	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden	Masters in Electromagnetics, Fusion, and Space Engineering		
Sonakshi Saini	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	Georgia Institute of Technology	Master of Science (MS) in Materials Science and Engineering		
Piyush Raj	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi	M. Tech Optoelectronics and Optical Communication		

Rohan Sharma	B.Tech Department		Vrije	European Master of Science in		
	Engineering	of Applied	Universiteit	Photonics		
	Physics	Physics	Brussel,			
			Belgium			
Sakshi Sharma	B.Tech	Department	Brown	Master's Physics		
	Engineering	of Applied	University			
	Physics	Physics				
		-				

Students qualifying in state/ national/ international level examinations during the current year (eg: NET/SLET/GATE/GMAT/CAT/GRE/TOEFL/Civil Services/State government examinations)

Year	Registratio n number/roll number for the exam	Name of students selected/ qualifying												Relevant document
		NET	SLE T	GAT E	GMA T	CA T	GRE	JA M	IEL ET	TOEF L	Other equivalent examination	Civil Services	State government examination	
2020	2K16/EP/ 013	Arjun Monga					1							
2020	2K16/EP/ 019	Chandan Kumar		1										
2020	2K16/EP/ 025	Lakshay Gera				1								
2020	2k16/EP/ 027	M Aditya					V							
2020	2K16/EP/ 063	Sonakshi Saini					V							
2020	2K16/EP/ 39	Piyush Raj												
2020	2K16/EP/ 51	Rohan Sharma								$\sqrt{}$				
2020	2K16/EP/ 76	Yengkho m Abhishek Singh		1										