Achievements of the department

- Department of Applied Physics organized "International Conference on Atomic, Molecular, Optical and Nano Physics with Applications (CAMNP-2019)" during December, 18-20, 2019 at DTU.
- Department of Applied Physics in the year 2019 has introduced a new course, Masters of Science (M.Sc. Physics) with an intake strength of 33.
- New Computer Systems were procured in Computational Lab for B.Tech (EP) with latest configurations. Computer- Student ratio in the department is now achieved at 1:1.
- Department of Applied Physics has planned to develop a **Centre of Excellence in the area of Space and Atmospheric Sciences.**
- Department has procured two major equipments to develop a **Centre of Excellence in the area of Space and Atmospheric Sciences** and in addition, procurement of three equipments is under process through TEQIP project.
- One Day National Seminar on "Recent Trends in Applied Physics and Engineering (RTAPE-2020)" by Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Awardees was organised by the department on 10th February 2020.
- Department of Applied Physics has signed MoU with CSIO- Chandigarh on 11th February 2020.
- Department has **one published patent (2019) in the name of Dr. M.S. Mehata** on the title "Light emitting metal and dual metal doped zinc selenide quantum dots and method thereof."

Title of the innovation	Name of the Awardee	Name of the Awarding Agency with contact details	Year of Award	Category- institution/teacher/researc h scholar/student
Commendable Research Excellence Award	Dr Rishu Chaujar	DTU	2020	Teacher
Recognition for Excellence in Teaching Award	Dr Rishu Chaujar	DTU	2020	Teacher
Research Excellence award	Dr. Jayasimhadri	DTU	2020	Teacher
Research Excellence award	Prof. S. C. Sharma	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Research Excellence award	Dr. Mohan Singh Mehata	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Research Excellence award	Prof. Rinku Sharma	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher

Detail of awards for innovation won by department/teachers/research scholars/students during the current year

Research Excellence award	Prof. A. S. Rao	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Research Excellence award	Dr. Ajeet Kumar	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Research Excellence award	Dr. Yogita Kalra	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher
Research Excellence award	Dr. Nitin K. Puri	DTU	2020	Institution/Teacher

Detail of teachers awarded international fellowship for advanced studies/ research

Name of the teacher awarded	Name of the	Year of	Awarding Agency
international fellowship	award/fellowship	Award	
Dr. Mohan Singh Mehata	Visiting Professor	2019	National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Whether department is with UGC-SAP, CAS, DST-FIST, DBT, ICSSR and other similar recognitions by government agency (current year data)

Name of the Department	Name of the Scheme	Name of the funding agency	Year of Award	Funds provided	Duration of award
Applied Physics		TIFAC			

Teachers/staff/students who received awards, recognition, fellowships at State, National, International level from Government, recognised bodies during the current year

Name of full time teachers receiving awards from state level,national level, international level	Year of Award	Designation	Name of the award, fellowship, received from Government or recognised bodies
Dr. Mohan Singh Mehata	2019	Assistant Professor	Visiting Professor of NCTU, Taiwan
Dr. Vinod Singh	2019	Associate Professor	Convener of International Conference CAMNP-2019
Dr. Vinod Singh	2019 2020	Associate Professor	Member, committee for the Project evaluation of AICTE's proposal under TEQIP-III Collaborative Research Scheme
Dr. Vinod Singh	2020	Associate Professor	Reviewer, Journal of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Students' achievements

S. No.	Student Name	Particulars	Date/Month/Year
1.	Mr. Mrityunjay Kumar Singh (Ph.D)	Received Research fellowship of National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan	22nd Sept 2019 to14th Dec 2019
2.	Mr. Mukesh Sahu	Grant received to attend 8 th International workshop on Photoluminescence in Rare Earths: Photonic Materials and Devices (PRE'19)	4 th -6 th September 2019
3.	Ms. Deepali	Grant received to attend National Conference on Luminescence and its Applications (NCLA 2020)	10- 12 th February 2020
4.	Mr. Vikas	Grant received to attend National Conference on Luminescence and its Applications [NCLA- 2020]	10-12 th February 2020

Detail of student progression to higher education (previous graduating batch) (the current year)

Name of students enrolling into higher education	Program graduated from	Department graduated from	Name of institution joined	Name of programme admitted to
Abhishek Seth	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	QUEEN'S University Belfast	Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering with Professional Internship
Arjun Monga	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden	Masters in Electromagnetics, Fusion, and Space Engineering
Sonakshi Saini	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	Georgia Institute of Technology	Master of Science (MS) in Materials Science and Engineering
Piyush Raj	B.Tech Engineering Physics	Department of Applied Physics	Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi	M. Tech Optoelectronics and Optical Communication

Rohan Sharma	B.Tech	Department	Vrije	European Master of Science in
	Engineering	of Applied	Universiteit	Photonics
	Physics	Physics	Brussel,	
			Belgium	
Sakshi Sharma	B.Tech	Department	Brown	Master's Physics
	Engineering	of Applied	University	
	Physics	Physics		
	-	-		

Students qualifying in state/ national/ international level examinations during the current year (eg: NET/SLET/GATE/GMAT/CAT/GRE/TOEFL/Civil Services/State government examinations)

Year	Registratio n number/roll number for the exam	Name of students selected/ qualifying												Relevant document
		NET	SLE T	GAT E	GMA T	CA T	GRE	JA M	IEL ET	TOEF L	Other equivalent examination	Civil Services	State government examination	
2020	2K16/EP/ 013	Arjun Monga												
2020	2K16/EP/ 019	Chandan Kumar												
2020	2K16/EP/ 025	Lakshay Gera												
2020	2k16/EP/ 027	M Aditya												
2020	2K16/EP/ 063	Sonakshi Saini												
2020	2K16/EP/ 39	Piyush Raj												
2020	2K16/EP/ 51	Rohan Sharma												
2020	2K16/EP/ 76	Yengkho m Abhishek Singh		\checkmark										